Charged with Causing Shaken Baby Syndrome?
Defense Against Accusations of Child Abuse in Olathe
Shaken baby charges are taken very seriously in courts across the nation,
and Johnson County, Kansas is no exception. At Martin & Wallentine,
our Olathe criminal defense lawyers have dealt with the prosecutors and
the courts for these severe allegations. Such cases are centered around
complicated medical results and physical evidence, and therefore require
skill and ability to find success. Even if you are innocent, all parties
involved, such as the judges and district attorneys, are sensitive and
seem to assume you are guilty.
If you have been accused of shaking a baby, it is strongly urged that you
contact an Olathe criminal defense attorney from our firm who can advise you from beginning to end.
Challenge the Evidence and Stand Up for Your Rights
There are a lot of symptoms of shaken baby syndrome – such as retinal
hemorrhage, subdural hematoma, and brain swelling – that may have
been caused by something else, but are taken as signs of shaken baby syndrome
or another form of child abuse. Sometimes, an experienced expert can fully
evaluate all the evidence to determine other potential causes of certain
symptoms. For example, the child may have had a preexisting condition
which led to the symptoms. It can seem like the hospitals, law enforcement,
and the prosecutors are quick to point fingers and are sometimes slow
to fully examine all the facts to determine what actually happened.
Even if you are guilty, it is important to let a skilled criminal defense
lawyer guide you through the dangerous legal system. In America, everyone
is entitled to legal counsel and you should not try to navigate through
the court system or deal with the prosecutors on your own.
Child Abuse Charges Are Considered a Felony
K.S.A. § 21-5602 is the Kansas Statute for child abuse. This is the same statute which
is often used in shaken baby cases. It states in §21-5602(2) that
"shaking any child under the age of 18 years which results in great
bodily harm to the child" is a level 5, person felony punishable
by up to 55 months in jail and a fine of up to $300,000.
Hire an Olathe Criminal Criminal Defense Lawyer!
If you have been accused or charged with shaken baby syndrome (SBS), contact
an experienced Johnson County child abuse attorney from
Martin & Wallentine, LLC immediately. Not only will you be dealing with criminal charges, you will
likely have to deal with substantiated findings from SRS. Furthermore,
you may also have to deal with a Child in Need of Care Case. (CINC) This
occurs if the victim of SBS was your child. Also, CINC cases can occur
even if the child wasn't yours, but you have children of your own.
The Court may assume that, if a child showed SBS symptoms while under
your care, then you may also be a danger to your own children.