What are the Penalties for DUI?
Olathe DUI Attorneys Can Protect Your Freedom
Much like other states, Kansas takes DUI offenses very seriously. While
penalties depend heavily upon the BAC level tested at the time of arrest
and also how many previous convictions are on record, an individual facing
a DUI charge can be subjected to several serious sanctions. Other elements
may also factor into a judgment such as an accident, injuries or the age
of passengers present in the stopped car.
Penalties Depend on Your DUI Criminal Record
First Offense DUI
In Kansas, a first-time DUI offense is processed as a class B misdemeanor.
Conviction of a first offense DUI requires that the defendant serve at
least 48 consecutive hours in custody. However, a jail sentence for the
first offense cannot exceed six months. Furthermore, first time offenders
will be required to participate in and complete court ordered alcohol
or drug treatment program as a part of the sentence. There are fines that
can reach over $1,000 as well as possible
license suspension for one year. In Kansas, you may be required to install an ignition interlock
device for one year prior to the reinstatement of their license.
Second & Third Offense DUI
When an individual is convicted of a
second DUI offense within a specified amount of time, the penalties are significantly higher.
Jail time carries a minimum sentence of 90 consecutive days and a maximum
of one year. Fines are also increased to well over $1,000, plus any other
court fees and probation costs. The defendant stands to have his or her
vehicle impounded for up to one year at their own expense and will face
a license suspension of one year followed by one year mandatory ignition
interlock device installation. A third DUI conviction will have the same
penalties except that the fines stand to increase much higher. Also, a
third time drunk driving charge may be charged as a felony, depending
when your previous DUIS were.
Under Kansas DUI law, there are several aggravating factors that can cause
a DUI charge to be increased to a felony. One of those factors is if the
individual is convicted a third or higher time within the specified time
period. Other aggravating factors may include injuries, very high amounts
of alcohol in the blood stream and extensive property damage. Felony DUI
is much more serious than misdemeanor and can carry extremely harsh penalties,
both immediate and lifelong.
Contact an Olathe DUI Lawyer today!
If you have been arrested for DUI in Olathe, you may be experiencing a
great amount of stress as you consider the possible ramifications for
conviction. However, at Martin & Wallentine, we believe that convictions
and DUI penalties are not necessary for every DUI arrest. That is why
our Olathe DUI attorneys are dedicated to providing dependable defense
services to clients who are facing the extreme penalties for DUI. Contact
a DUI attorney today and learn more about how
Martin & Wallentine can help you avoid the various costs of DUI conviction. We serve clients
throughout Johnson County!