Underage DUI Lawyer in Johnson County
Knowing What to Expect from Your Case
Driving while intoxicated is already a serious enough offense for those who are of legal age to drink. The offense becomes more complicated, however, when it is committed by a person under the age of 21. Kansas is a "zero tolerance" state, which means that an underage driver with a BAC of .02% or higher will have their license immediately suspended upon arrest.
Penalties for underage DUI are as follows:
- First Offense: License suspended for 30 days, followed by 330 days of restricted driving. If their BAC was .15% or higher, their license will be suspended for one year, followed by one year of restricted driving with an ignition interlock device.
- Second Offense: License suspended for one year, followed by two years of driving with an ignition interlock device.
- Third Offense: License suspended for one year, followed by three years of driving with an ignition interlock device.
An ignition interlock device is much like a breathalyzer test. Installed in the car, a driver cannot start the vehicle until they have passed the breathalyzer test and proven that they are not attempting to drive while intoxicated. Don't allow yourself to be punished so harshly for an offense that you did not commit.
Contact Martin & Wallentine for DUI Help in Johnson County
If you have been arrested for underage DUI, contact Martin & Wallentine today. Our legal team is made up of seasoned trial lawyers who are fully capable of handling your case professionally in court. We could provide a persuasive argument on your behalf and present any relative evidence to prove your innocence to the judge and jury.
Let us evaluate your case, either online or by calling for an appointment, so that we can counsel you and give you options.
Read What Our Former Clients Have Said
"Professional, informative, and vital in working with the prosecutor to secure the most favorable outcome possible".Barb
"Jerry kept in constant contact with us and our son during the case and went the extra mile to plea before the judge outside and inside the courtroom".Joanne from Nebraska